Brick NJ Driving While Suspended Attorney
Over 10,000 traffic tickets for moving violations like driving while suspended or revoked are issued annually in Brick New Jersey. The township ranks near the top of municipalities in Ocean County when it comes to motorists charged with speeding, reckless driving, careless driving and the subject of this page, driving with a suspended license. Whether you were stopped by a state trooper on the Garden State Parkway in Brick Township or by the Brick Police Department near Laurelton Circle, hiring a knowledgeable attorney is going to be instrumental in your defense. Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall definitely possesses formidable qualifications with eight lawyers that include Matthew Dorry, the former prosecutor of Brick Municipal Court. Matt and the other members of our team have avoided a driving while suspended conviction on behalf of countless clients in Brick over the last several decades. Contact our office 24/7 at (732) 286-6500 to speak to a lawyer at the firm immediately. Initial consultations with our attorneys are without charge.Driving While Suspended Offense in Brick New Jersey
Every ticket or summons for driving while suspended arises out of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40. This Motor Vehicle Law prohibits operation of a motor vehicle during a period of suspension or revocation. Driving privileges are suspended as a result of a wide range of "in court suspensions" such as DWI, driving while suspension, possession of cds in a motor vehicle, reckless driving and driving without insurance. Accumulation of too many motor vehicle points (i.e. 12 or more), failure to pay insurance surcharges or child support or a lapse in your insurance also results in being suspended. Irrespective of the reason for the revocation, you are exposed to a 39:3-40 violation if you are caught driving.
Penalties for Driving While Suspended in Brick. The penalties you will face in Brick will hinge on whether this is a first offense or you are a repeat offender. A first offense for driving while suspended in Brick or anywhere else results in a $500 fine and an additional period of revocation of up to 6 months. A second offense results in a $750 fine, up to six months suspension and imprisonment for up one to five days. The penalties for a third offense include a $1,000 fine, imprisonment for 10 days in the county jail and an a license suspension of 6 months. The penalties previously outlined are enhanced if you are suspended for driving without insurance or driving while intoxicated with jail becoming mandatory for even a first offense. The situation is even more serious if you are charged with violating N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26.Brick Driving While Suspended Defense Lawyer
Driving while suspended clearly has the potential to cause serious problems in your life if you are convicted in Brick. Beyond the additional period of revocation that is triggered for this offense, you face DMV surcharges, increased cost to secure car insurance and can even be sent to jail. It is in your best interests to contact our firm since our attorneys are able to avoid consequences such as these in most Brick driving while suspended cases. To speak to lawyer about the defense of your 39:3-40 charge, call (732) 286-6500. An attorney is ready to help you now.