If you have been charged with disorderly conduct anywhere in Ocean County, you face consequences that are probably much more serious than you think. A disorderly conduct offense in Manchester, Lakewood, Seaside Heights, Point Pleasant, Jackson or another town carries penalties and collateral consequences that include a permanent criminal record and a county jail sentence. It is certainly in the best interests of someone facing a charge like this to consult a capable criminal lawyer. Here at Marshall Bonus Proetta & Oliver we can offer you far more than that with eight attorneys that have over 100 years of experience between them. Matthew Dorry of our office also happens to be the former prosecutor of approximately 15 municipalities in Ocean County. An attorney on staff is prepared to review the facts of your case and provide sound advise to help you. Lawyers are available 24/7 for free consultation at (732) 286-6500.Disorderly Conduct Charge in Ocean County New Jersey
The classic connotation of disorderly conduct is someone who disturbs the peace or is drunk in public. New Jersey law is much more complex, however, than theses terms might imply. N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2 is the statute which sets forth disorderly conduct and it is directed at two types of conduct, namely, improper behavior and use of offensive language. The goal of the law is to stifle conduct that is prone to insight violence. The chart below outlines the sections of this law, the type of conduct required to commit a violation and the grade of offense you will face if you are convicted.
Section of Law
State of Mind
Engaging in fighting or threatening, or in violent or tumultuous behavior
Purpose to cause or recklessly causing public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm
Disorderly Persons Offense
Creating a hazardous or physically dangerous condition by any act which serves no legitimate purpose of the actor
Same as above
Disorderly Persons Offense
In a public place, using unreasonably loud and offensively coarse or abusive language, given the circumstances of the person present and the setting of the utterance
Purpose to offend the sensibilities of a hearer or in reckless disregard of the probability of so doing
Petty Disorderly Persons Offense
Explanation of Key Terms. The general interpretation is that conduct must take place "in public" in order to result in disorderly conduct. "Public" means a place where persons are or may be present like on a street, highway, school, apartment, bar, restaurant or a workplace.
Penalties. An individual convicted of disorder conduct as a disorderly persons offense faces a $1,000 fine and up to 6 months in jail. A petty disorderly persons offense for disorderly conduct results in maximum penalties that include up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. Unless the charge is downgraded to a municipal ordinance or diverted through the Conditional Dismissal Program, you will also have a criminal record if you plead or are found guilty of disorderly conduct in either grade. There is a 5 year waiting period to expunge a record of conviction for disorderly conduct.
A knowledgeable defense attorney is a must for anyone seeking to avoid a conviction for disorderly conduct in Ocean County. Representation by lawyers who are accomplished in the court system is also invaluable. Marshall Bonus Proetta & Oliver possess these attributes with a team that has been practicing in this jurisdiction for over a century combined, including in Lacey, Little Egg Harbor, Berkeley, Brick and Toms River. A lawyer is ready to utilize his skill to secure a downgrade or dismissal of your charge. To speak to one of our attorneys immediately about your disorderly conduct offense, call (732) 286-6500.Related Disorderly Conduct Pages & Posts