DWI / DUI
The lawyers at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall are New Jersey’s strongest firm of DUI defense attorneys in Ocean County. Our firm has extensive experience defending Driving While Intoxicated charges and has an unbeatable success rate. Our lawyers have defended traffic offenses for over fifteen years and have been successful at either reducing the DUI charges or eliminating them completely. The seriousness of the penalties that result from DUI convictions make it crucial to obtain an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney to assist you in your defense. The attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall have superior knowledge in preparing valid and successful DUI defenses and have a reputation of defending clients with professionalism and efficiency. Our office includes Nicholas Moschella, who is a former prosecutor in Barnegat, Beach Haven, Beachwood, Brick Town, Harvey Cedars, Long Beach, Mantoloking, Plumsted, Point Pleasant Beach, Ship Bottom, Toms River, Waretown, Tuckerton, Little Egg Harbor, Stafford, Eagleswood, Lacey Township, and Surf City, and has advanced knowledge and expertise to defend your DUI charge in Ocean County.Ocean County Driving While Intoxicated
Driving While Intoxicated along with Driving Under the Influence and Refusal to Perform a Breath Test all carry serious penalties upon conviction in New Jersey. Under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, a person can be charged with Driving While Intoxicated or Driving Under the Influence if he or she (1) operates a vehicle while under the influence of any intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, (2) has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or more and operates a vehicle, or (3) allows another individual who is under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogen or habit-producing drug to operate a vehicle owned by him or her. The penalties for violating the drunk driving statute include vary depending on the number of prior convictions: a first offense DWI or DUI carries a fine of $250 to $400, 3 months to a year of license suspension, completion of Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC) program requirements, and possibly 30 days jail time; a second offense DWI or DUI carries a fine of $500 to $1,000, 30 days of community service, 2-90 days of jail time, and 2 years license suspension; a third or subsequent offense carries a $1,000 fine, 180 days jail time, and 10 year license suspension.
For a more detailed discussion of drunk driving offenses and penalties, please refer to our New Jersey DWI, DUI, and Refusal pages.
A Driving While Intoxicated conviction can seriously alter one’s future. If you or someone you know has been charged with drunk driving in Ocean County, you should contact the Law Offices of John F. Marshall to have an experienced criminal attorney discuss your legal options. Obtaining a skilled criminal defense attorney for your DWI or DUI charge can result in a reduction of the charges or possibly having them eliminated altogether. With almost 60 years of legal experience, the lawyers at our office are highly familiar with drunk driving offenses and have successfully defended such charges throughout Ocean County. Call us for a FREE consultation at (732) 286-6500. and an attorney will speak with you immediately.
Additional Resources on This Subject