Heroin Offense Fines
As one of the largest criminal defense firms in not only Ocean County but the state, we have occasion to receive many questions and inquiries regarding fines and penalties for drug offenses, including heroin. The fine that is triggered upon conviction for a heroin charge hinges on two issues, whether the offense involves simple possession versus intent to distribute, and the quantity or weight of heroin involved.
The maximum fine a New Jersey Court may impose under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10 for simple possession (also termed “possession” or “straight possession”) is $35,000. The court is also obligated to make an assessment for the Victims of Crime Compensation Board and Safe Neighborhood Fund.
The fine for distributing or selling heroin has a much wider range under the intent to distribute law, N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5. If the sale involves less than one half ounce, the maximum fine is $75,000. The limit of the fine escalates to $150,000 where someone is convicted of distributing between a half ounce but less than five ounces. The maximum fine reaches a considerable $500,000 if the sale involves five ounces or more.
The State of New Jersey clearly has the ability to impose significant fines whenever someone is convicted of an offense relating to heroin. If you have been arrested or charged with any type of heroin violation, it is clearly in your best interest to seek the advice of an attorney. We can be reached at (732) 286-6500 to answer your questions. You may also refer to our Heroin Possession & Distribution page for more information on this subject matter.