Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
One of the consequences of a conviction for driving while intoxicated ("DWI") in Brick New Jersey or another Ocean County municipality is a requirement that the defendant participate in the Intoxicated Driver's Resource Center ("IDRC"). The attorneys on our staff are skilled in DWI defense with over a century of experience between us, including significant time serving as prosecutors. An attorney on our staff, Matthew Dorry, even served as the prosecutor in Brick Township. If you would like to speak to a lawyer at Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall about IDRC or any other issue associated with a DWI or DUI, contact our Toms River Office. Lawyers are available immediately to assist you around the clock at (732) 286-6500.IDRC Requirements Under New Jersey Law
The IDRC maintains centers in every county. These centers provide alcohol education and evaluation services for those convicted of DWI. The following is a breakdown of the IDRC requirements that are imposed at the time of sentencing for DUI:
- First Offense. An individual must serve 12-48 in the IDRC for a first offense The agency can charge up to $75 per day for participation in the program. During the course of serving time in the IDRC, an alcohol evaluation is conducted. If a determination is made that further treatment is required, the defendant must follow the direction of the agency. Failure to comply with the treatment requirements of IDRC will result in issuance of a non-compliance and your returning to court for resentencing. The court may order up to two days of incarceration and an additional license suspension for failure to successfully complete IDRC. Click here for more information regarding a first offense.
- Second Offense. A defendant must serve 48 hours in the IDRC as a result of being convicted of a second DWI offense. The per diem fee is $100 per day. Failure to serve the required 48 hours results in conversation of the time to a county jail term. An additional period of suspension may also be imposed. You can learn more about a second offense by clicking here.
- Third Offense. The consequences of a third DWI offense are extremely similar to that of a second offense. If you fail to serve the required 48 hours or comply with the after care plan directed, you may be sentenced to a jail term of 2 days. As with a first and second offense, you are also exposed to an additional period of license revocation. You can obtaining more third offense information by clicking here.
Little Egg Harbor processes over 80 DWI violations most years so the IDRC naturally comes up quite often in its municipal court. Our attorneys are equipped to deal with this issue given that we have been handling DUI cases in Ocean County for several decades. A lawyer on our team is available 24/7 to assist you at (732) 286-6500. An attorney is ready to assist you now.
Towns We Serve