Jackson DWI Defense Attorney

Arrested For DWI in Jackson Township Jackson Township has experienced a nearly 30% increase in its population to approximately 52,000 residents over the last 10 years and with this has also come a rise in DWI violations. The has not gone unnoticed by every DWI attorney at our firm. The growth in the number of residents, when coupled with the vigilance of the Jackson Police Department in identifying DWI and DUI, has resulted in the town becoming one of Ocean County’s highest ranking municipalities for driving under the influence and while intoxicated cases under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. In the last two years alone, 275 DWI/DUI charges were filed in the municipality. For those convicted, the penalties are stiff, with fines, annual DMV surcharges, increased insurance rates, mandatory driver’s license suspension and even jail. And unlike most states, New Jersey does not permit any conditional licenses to allow an individual to drive to on restricted basis. This makes your selection of the right attorney to defend you even more pivotal.
Highly Experience Jackson Township DWI Lawyers & Former ProsecutorsIf you were charged with DWI in Jackson, our defense attorneys can help you avoid a negative outcome and the penalties just described. Because there is no plea bargaining permitted in 39:4-50 cases in New Jersey, you must present your very best defense in Jackson Municipal Court in order to escape the consequences set forth under the DUI Law. The lawyers at Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are former prosecutors, including one who has served in Jackson Township, as well as certified in both Field Sobriety Testing and on the Alcotest machine. This training, in addition to over 100 years of combined DWI defense experience, provides every lawyer at the firm with unique perspective when it comes to defending your Jackson driving while intoxicated summons or ticket. Give us a call at 732-286-6500 for immediate assistance from an attorney. Charged With DUI in Jackson New Jersey There are certain basics that you probably want to know if you are charged with DWI or DUI in Jackson. The first thing you need to know is that the law sets forth a per se violation for anyone who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (“BAC”) of .08% or higher. In order to establish operation with a BAC over the limit, the police in Jackson utilize a blood test or, more often than not, a breathalyzer reading taken on the Draeger Alcotest 7110. There are strict rules, however, for admissibility of scientific evidence like this in a DUI case. This is why it is so important for you to hire experienced defense attorneys that know when a required protocol has been side stepped or violated. Certification on the Alcotest, something possessed by several at our firm, can also prove to be invaluable in defending a driving while intoxicated case like the one you are facing in Jackson Township. You should also know that the police and prosecutor can resort to use of Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (“SFST”) as a means of proving a DWI/DUI. Our lawyers are equipped with a high level of training, typically far beyond the arresting officer, in these tests. This provides us a formidable advantage in identifying deviations from acceptable standards in terms of administration and scoring. All of this is very important as a conviction under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 results in the following:
  • For a First Offense with a BAC above .08 but below .10 (a.k.a. “First Tier”), you face a three month license suspension, 12 hours of IDRC, imprisonment of up to 30 days, the possibility of installation of an ignition interlock, a fines and assessments, and a $1,000 surcharge for three years. If your reading is above .10 (a.k.a. “Second Tier”), the suspension is seven to twelve months and the fine escalates. If the reading exceeds .15%, installation of an ignition interlock becomes mandatory.

  • For a Second Offense, there are fines and assessments, mandatory imprisonment of at least 48 hours but less than 90 days, a two year loss of license, 30 days of community service, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock and a $1,000 annual DMV surcharge for three years.
  • For a Third offense, there is a mandatory jail sentence of 180 days, a license revocation of ten years, an annual surcharge of $1,500 for three years, ninety days of community service, fines, assessments, and installation of an ignition interlock during the period of suspension plus one to three years following reinstatement.

Type of Offense

Suspension

Fines & Other Penalties

Jail Term

Other Penalties

First Offense

(BAC .08-.099)

3 Months

$250-$400 fine;

$1,000 surcharge;

$100 DWI Fund;

$100 Alcohol Educ.;

$230 IDRC Fee;

$75 SNFA

Up to 30 Days

12 Hours IDRC;

Mandatory Ignition Interlock if BAC .15 or Higher

First Offense

(BAC .10 or More or Drug DWI)

7-12 Months

Same except fine $300-$500

Up to 30 Days

Same as above

Second Offense

2 Years

$500-$1,000 fine;

$1,000 surcharge;

$100 DWI Fund;

$100 Alcohol Educ.;

$280 IDRC Fee;

$75 SNFA

2-90 Days

48 Hours IDRC;

30 Days Community Serv.;

Interlock during suspension plus 1-3 Years after restored

Third Offense

10 Years

$1,000 fine;

$1,500 surcharge;

$100 DWI Fund;

$100 Alcohol Educ.;

$280 IDRC Fee;

$75 SNFA

180 Days

48 Hours IDRC;

Up to 90 days Community Serv.;

Interlock during suspension plus 1-3 Years after restored

Jackson NJ DWI Lawyers Whether you are facing a first offense, second offense, or third offense for DWI in Jackson, do not hesitate to contact our firm for assistance. Our team of DUI attorneys will take the time to dissect all of the facts of your case and formulate a comprehensive strategy for defending your charge. As the largest firm of its nature in the region, including former drunk driving prosecutor(s) in nearly 20 municipalities in Ocean County, our defense attorneys have the experience to effectively defend you. To speak to one of the Jackson NJ DWI Lawyers on our staff, call us anytime 24/7 at 732-286-6500. Initial consultations with an attorney on our defense team are free of charge. A lawyer is ready to undertake a thorough review of your case now without obligation.

Related Jackson NJ Pages & Posts:

Jackson NJ Shoplifting Offense

FREE CONSULTATION
Contact Us